That Must Be Pretty Important?


“That must be pretty important to you?”

Those were the words I heard yesterday as I was finishing up a couple of projects in the garage. The words came from a guy walking past my garage while he was out walking his dog. The words startled me at first, as I was in deep thought in regard to all of the projects I have going on here right now at My2ndHeartBeat World Headquarters.

Me: Excuse me?

Walker: Those license plates on your cars must be pretty important, since you have two of them.

Me: (Smiling) Oh yes, they are very important to me. It’s my way of helping getting the word out about organ donations. I had a life saving heart transplant, so yes, they are extremely important to me.

Walker: No sh*t!!! You had a transplant? I never would have guessed.

Me: A true hero saved my life and I will advocate organ donation for the rest of my life.

Walker: I’m an organ donor on my driver’s license.

Me: Thank you for that, but please make sure your family knows.

Walker: They know. Never met anyone that had a transplant, you look pretty good. I’ve got to keep moving so you have a nice day ….. and again, nice license plates!

Me: Thanks and you have a great day as well!

DonateLife Plate1

 ——

DonateLife Plate2

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That Must Be Pretty Important?

  1. Allie says:

    I wish we had those plates in Ca :(

Leave a Reply

