Falling


So, the other day I was walking down the front steps to the sidewalk in front on My2ndHeartBeat World Headquarters and I hit the edge of the last step, rolled my ankle and fell …… HARD …… landing with a thud and a grunt on the sidewalk. Lack of attention, hurrying, carrying a cell phone (but not talking), being a klutz, along with failure to use the handrail were all contributing factors.

As falls go, it must have been rated at least a 9.0, as I got a cheer from the “children” down the street. (Yes, I am TRYING to be nice, LOL)

Falling is a fear that many organ transplant recipients have. Our immunosuppressants (anti-rejection medications) can cause a lot of bone loss and will more than double our chances of fracturing a bone. I take or have taken a variety of medications to ward off bone loss …. extra calcium, Vitamin D, was on Fosamax, etc.

Blessed – Total damage was a nice case of road rash to one knee, a sore left hand, a bruised right wrist and a little bit of embarrassment. I also needed to have the screen saver on the phone replaced. I have to admit, I felt like I was some 90-year-old guy when I fell.

Lessons relearned …. pay ATTENTION, use the hand rails and slow down.

Be careful out there!!

Does it hurt? Hell YES!!!!

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

