One for my Wife


Sometimes I tell people that my wife and I had a heart transplant together. She had the hard part ~ all the decisions, all the grief, the tears, the pain. All I had to do was lay there, unconscious for a few weeks. Since that time my wife has been by my side constantly, she’s been my caregiver, my pill timer, vitals checker, “breathing in the middle of the night checker” (she puts her hand close to my nose to see if I’m breathing), my chief cook, bottle washer, and a million other things to me.

At times, I think she’s afraid to let me out of her sight, like that “independent” 4 year old that HAS to explore and I WILL get into trouble. It seems in the past few months she is feeling a bit better about me and my new heart. Yesterday was a prime example ~ Our son sent a text message, he needed Mom to babysit the 2 grand kiddos for 2 days as their baby-sitter has a medical issue that she needs to deal with. I could see the brightness in her eye, even when she asked me about 100 times if I’d be OK for 2 days. After my assurances we booked her a ticket.

My only issue ~ now I don’t have a date for our transplant dinner on Thursday.

This trip is for her ~ giving her some of her independence back!! Enjoy!!054

Just give them lots of kisses from “Papa”

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in Heart Transplant. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

