One Event – Two Emotional Viewpoints


Three years ago, on today’s date, was when I was struck down by a heart attack that started me on this heart transplant journey. The heart attack was the initial event, and rapid subsequent events led me in a rapid downward spiral. (More details can be found in My Story, on the links at the top of my blog)

The past couple have days have been extremely busy here at “My2ndHeartBeat World Headquarters”. My convertible has been in the shop for repairs, my wife’s car was leased and needed to be returned today, and we bought a different vehicle (Jeep Commander) to replace the leased car. So, we’ve been rotating cars, dealing with car repair places and all the other fun things that go along with buying and repairing cars. In addition there’s been some family issues with elderly parents that need to be dealt with on an almost daily basis.

Last night I noticed my wife was very “teary” and as I started to inquire she said do you what tomorrow is?

To her, it was one of the worst day of her life. In her top five, for sure. I understand and can see her point. She heard me hit my desk with my face, when the lights went out, she did CPR, she called 9-1-1, she did all the right things. It was difficult and still is when she reflects on those events. I know she’ll struggle over the next few weeks when she has time to think back.

Personally,  I don’t dwell much on today’s date any longer. It was the initial event that started me on a path that I never saw my life heading. It could have been the beginning of the end, but it wasn’t. It was the abrupt start of a new, additional chapter in my life.  To me, the BIGGEST event was my life saving heart transplant, 13 days in the future. May 11th, is the day my life was saved by my donor. That’s the day I get emotional …….. today, I’m simply thankful.

Today, after I volunteered and we made the final car shuffle of the day, we took a nice long walk. At one point we stopped, I put her hand on my chest and said “feel the beat”. “I’m here, and I’m staying”. She smiled and I gave her a hug and a kiss and we headed home.

It’s a difficult day for her. She struggles and I understand. Relief will come in 2 days, as we go see the grand kiddos. Her focus will change from one big kid (me), to the two “little people”.

Life goes on.

Life is Good!!!!

I Thank God Daily!!!

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

