Nine Years


One of the biggest events in my lifetime was my heart transplant. It was the day I was given life. However, there was also a day where part of me died. I’m thinking that part of all of us died that day.

9/11/2001 ~ Nine years ago today, a HORRIFIC event happened in this country that I hope I never have to witness again in my lifetime. I also hope and pray that neither my son nor my grand- kiddos have to witness such an event in their lifetimes.

It was the day the world stood still. I can still vividly remember tiny little details from that day. Work, my coworkers, having lunch, speaking with my wife and later frantically trying to get a hold of my son.

After an overdose of the events via every news outlet I could think of I prayed. I prayed for each and every person that was lost that day. A number that wouldn’t be fully known for a long time. I prayed for all of NYC, our leaders, our military, our families, for our way of life that had been so terribly shaken.

My life has been shaken ever since! We saw the devil and we saw pure hell that day.

Through my prayers I did see, for what turned out to be a very short period of time, that people can pull together, can help one another in times of need. They can be cordial and say hello to strangers. It was amazing to see people supporting each other, checking on one another, assisting when they could. Unfortunately, that faded as fast as a candle in a hurricane.

As many others don’t want to remember, don’t like to be reminded of this day, it will be FOREVER etched in my mind. And, I will talk and write about it every year.

Today, my thoughts and prayers are for all of us! On this day nine years ago, we all changed.

May God Bless us all!!

…….

…….

……..

……

……

…..

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

