Life Continues


After a couple of busy months where my Mom and father-in-law were both in hospitals for surgery and then the subsequent rehab facilities, plus going on the road to babysit our 2 grand kiddos for 2 weeks, it’s good to be back to “normal” here at My2ndHeartBeat World Headquarters.

As a heart transplant recipient, I’m convinced that having a stable life, stable food intake, stable exercise program, mixed in with on-time medication (anti-rejection drugs), along with cleanliness and following all of those “don’t do this” transplant rules is, simply put, the way to go!!

It’s taken very little time to get back into a good rhythm here, back on my normal diet, back in the gym, daily walking, volunteering, and some never-ending home improvement projects.

Life is INDEED good.

The past 2 months has played havoc with my routine, and hence my diet. While I track my food intake daily and plot a running 10 day average of my nutrient intake, the past 2 months were a major struggle. Not so much with weight gain or loss, but more of making sure I’m not exceeding sodium, potassium, cholesterol, etc limits So it’s good to be back, where I know what’s actually in my salad and that everything is clean, along with a regular diet of chicken and fish, with an occasional pork chop thrown in and a very random small piece of red meat.

It’s good be alive.

Nothing like good fresh fish!!

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life Continues

  1. Dear, dear friend, life is indeed sweet. Not for those fish, but, you know, for us. 😉 (Laugh! Life is too short not to!)

Leave a Reply

