“You’re Normal”


Earlier this week was an my annual heart check up at my transplant center. As the heart cath was ending, my doc leans over to me and says, “You’re normal, though your family may not think so.”

A bit of humor from a clinician. Gotta love it.

Even though the arteries were all clear, valves looked good and my biopsy showed no rejection, as a heart transplant patient, I never feel “normal”. I have my new normal, but the old carefree days of not worrying about much of anything, in a health sense, have been long gone.

To me, the important part of this annual visit was taking another thank you card for my donor family. The entire day I thought about my donor, and his or her family. I believe it helped me a lot as I was actually relaxed this time. My blood pressure was under control and I didn’t have extreme anxiety.

I hand wrote something close to the following in the card. I was making last second changes as my hands were trembling and my mind was racing with pen to the paper, so I’m not 100% sure of the exact wording ……

To my donor family,
 
Once again, my family and I would like to extend a profound THANK YOU for the gift that I received four years ago.
 
My adopted heart is one that came from a true hero.
 
Recently I saw this quote about heroes ….. “Most of my heroes don’t appear on stamps.” ….. My ultimate hero is the person that saved my life, that lent me their heart. And, most likely, their face will never be on a stamp, but he or she will always be a big part of me. A constant reminder that there incredible people all around us, that do incredible things at the most difficult times. That, is the definition of a true hero.
 
Life continues to be well. I give thanks every day for being able to spend extra time with my lovely family and to watch my two grand kids grow. To be able to enjoy life and help others whenever I am able. The love in my adopted heart is incredible. I’ve been able to grow older, to volunteer and to assist others that are traveling on a similar journey of severe heart trouble.
 
With profound thanks and love, D & family

My THANKFUL Heart is Smiling!!

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “You’re Normal”

  1. Sarah says:

    I think it is interesting how differently all of us transplant patients internalize what’s happened in our lives. For me, I feel more “normal” than I have ever felt. The health fears and worry that plagued me ALL THE TIME pre-transplant are gone. I feel whole. That, in and of itself, has been an AMAZING blessing. I just realized it myself typing this note. God is so good.

    • my2ndheartbeat says:

      Sarah, thanks for the comment. I agree in the differences. A lot of it is the path we took to get where we are today. In the big scheme of things, mine was an incredibly fast journey to a new life. I know people that were sick for most of their lives look at this gift differently than I do, in some respects. Regardless, we are all eternally grateful.

Leave a Reply

