Danger Zone


Danger Zone ~ by Kenny Loggins

Partial lyrics ~

Highway to the Danger Zone
Gonna take it right into the Danger Zone
Highway to the Danger Zone
Ride into the Danger Zone

I have successfully avoided going into the “Danger Zone” for over 4 years. It is a place that most heart transplant or most organ transplant recipients should not visit very often, or NOT at all if it can be avoided. To enter into this “zone” could be very hazardous to our lives.

What is this “zone” you might ask ….. there can be many different names, but the one I am writing about is well-known by families with kids. Inside of these “zones” are scads of coin operated games, jungle gyms, and the like where the younger people can run amuck, laugh, have fun and have a good time. A very simple concept and if I were a kid again, I’d love to go there myself.

However, the problem is that our wonderful little children are often petri dishes …. germ, virus and bacteria carriers, if you will, and they spread many of these little critters by touch.

Anyway, a number of days ago, the little people (aka grand – kiddos) in my life were here at My2ndHeartBeat World Headquarters. With their big blue eyes, a few tears, a little bit of whining, a number of hugs and kisses, they managed to entice us to take them to the “Danger Zone”.

I ventured forth into the “zone” fully and totally aware of the potential issues that I could get just from being there. If I got sick, it was on me ….. it would be MY fault. And, to make matters even worse (potentially), I forgot to take a mask. However, I did have a LOT of hand wipes. (Yes, I went semi-prepared)

In entering the “Danger Zone” I noticed how clean it was, despite all the little petri dishes running amuck. That in itself, was a huge relief. Cleanliness is next to Godliness, even in the “danger zone”.

A little over 2 hours later we emerged. The little people had an INCREDIBLE time. I had an awesome time!! A good hand scrubbing and “de-germing” later, we headed on to the next stop.

Then I waited …….. and now we have passed most incubation periods for various types of the crud  …. and I can safely say, I feel great!!

I guess, I could go into the “Danger Zone” every 4 years.

 

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Danger Zone

  1. Susan says:

    Awww, who could resist bringing joy to the little grand-petri dis…I mean grand kids? Just don’t eat the pizza, I don’t think it’s safe for humans, let alone humans who are immunosuppressed.

Leave a Reply

