Moments in Time ~ A Moment of Levity


This post is Rated PG-13 …..

I know most of my posts have been serious in nature and that is because heart transplantation is a very serious subject. Today’s “Moment in Time” will be a bit different.

Five years ago this evening, June 2, 2007, I was on my starting my 4th week with a new heart. I was still mostly clueless and feeling my way, day by day, along the transplant journey path. I was not only clueless, but I was also still pretty scared.

This particular weekend, five years ago, was special because my son, his wife and sweet grandson, who was 18 months old at that point, came to visit and “take care” of me.

I was a bit nervous about having him around as my chest was still healing and I was barely mobile at this point in my recovery. So, a lot of the weekend, I sat in a large, over stuffed chair in the living room where I was out of everyone’s way, yet still in the center of all the family action.

The scene was …….  Evening, about 8pm and the little guy just had a bath and Mom & dad were letting him run around the house naked. We were all in the living room chatting and enjoying each other’s company. I saw my little buddy run past me at one point and didn’t think a thing about it. A minute or two later he appears next to me and he says “LOOK” and raises his small fist in my direction. Instinctively, I lower my hand as to accept something that he picked up and then FEAR ripped through me ………..

In slow motion, as he opened his little hand and as the object started its gravity aided descent, I saw it and my mind raced through the heart transplant “rule” book …….. and I remembered in that nano-second that this was NOT a good situation ……… I FREAKED, screamed and jumped …. as least as much as my frail body would allow.

The “item” that was falling was a “ca-ca” or poo-poo” that he had made behind my chair. My family roared with laughter and I admit it was funny. But in my defense, I already knew most of the rules and one of them is to stay away from “bowel movements” of infants and pets.

Ahhh, the things we learn on this path.

PS: I did manage to avoid it, someone else had to remove it from the chair.

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

