Gift of Life Walk & Run – RAW Emotions


I once had a friend tell me, “You can’t be a wimp and have a heart transplant!” Well, yesterday, I was once again reduced to a teary eyed wimp …. all in honor of MY AMAZING DONOR!

For the past 5 years, including 2014, I have been able to publicly honor my anonymous heart donor during the annual Gift of Life Walk and Run, which is put on by our local “Organ Procurement Organization”, known as Lifebanc. The walk is about our donors and about spreading the word about the miracles of organ donation. It is one of the BEST days of the year.

I have written about the previous walks in each of  these years  ……

2010 (Click to read)

2011 (Click to read)

2012 (Click to read)

2013 (Click to read)

This year was filled with very raw emotions for me personally. There were a few reasons for these heightened emotions, a couple of which I will share here and a some that I won’t for very personal reasons.

If you read back through the 4 previous years worth of my words, it is easy to see that for many organ recipients, it is an emotional day simply because most of us are in TOTAL awe of the person that SAVED our lives, as they sadly and unfortunately came to the end of theirs. This gift that we’ve been given is not a trivial thing. This act, along with our donors and our donor families are on are minds EACH and EVERY day!

One of the reasons that my emotions were at an all time high for this walk is because my 2 grand kiddoa walked with me this year, and were present with me in the “Legacy Garden” where I had a sign placed (see below) once again in honor of my donor and we also had a balloon launch ….. watching the balloons drift toward heaven as you think of that person that saved you is mind numbing. No man wants his grand kiddos cry to see their grand-father cry …… and as hard as I tried, it simply couldn’t be helped as the tears flowed freely …. as I thought of my donor, my hero. Without that amazing donor, I wouldn’t be watching these kids grow.

Another reason for increased emotions was that a number of months we lost a beautiful member of the team of wonderful people who I walk with and her entire family and many of her friends were present. My thoughts of her and her family were with me all day as well. She was a young lady that was simply loved by all that knew here. Her loss to all of us was very profound.

The emotions of the day were draining. Yet, I in retrospect, I have same thoughts of my donor and his/her family each day, often multiple times a day ….. BUT in PRIVATE.

My thanks, gratitude, gratefulness will be never-ending to this person, their family and to God!

You may not feel the emotions in the following pictures, but believe me there were many.

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

DSC_0042

DSC_0045

GOLWR2 GOLWR3 GOLWR4 GOLWR5 GOLWR9.2 GOLWR9.3 GOLWR9.4 GOLWR9.7 GOLWR9

 

DSC_0006DSC_0009DSC_0022

 

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in Daily Insight, General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gift of Life Walk & Run – RAW Emotions

  1. Ms. A says:

    I hope someday Michael will be more open to meeting up with other transplant recipients. I think it would be wonderful for him to be more willing to discuss it with people who have been there and know firsthand what it’s like. The only ones he’s met so far, were when he was still in the hospital.

    • DAP says:

      Talking with others that have been through this helps … a LOT, in my opinion ….. someone to bounce feelings, emotions and ideas off of …. nobody needs to go through this alone.

Leave a Reply

