Award and ….. Answers


I’ve been writing on this site since August 7, 2009. I had blogged on another site before this, but I have always felt most comfortable here. When I started this undertaking I had multiple goals I wanted to achieve. First and foremost these written words are for my two grand kiddos, who were 4 and 2 when I started writing. But, I also wanted help anyone I could that was traveling along the organ transplant path. And, lastly, it was a way for me to, publicly thank my anonymous donor and donor family as well as clear my mind of the clutter and cobwebs that can haunt oneself.

Along the way, I have blessed to be in touch with so many wonderful people from around the world. From a donor family up in Canada, to fellow recipients and recipient family members that had questions, concerns or just needed a reassuring point of view. Folks from Florida, New York, Utah, Michigan, Tennessee, New Mexico, California and many, many other states. People in different parts of the world from Canada, to Ireland, to South Africa, to China, the Philippines, and a quite few more. And, when I say blessed, I mean that. So many people have touched me that I feel blessed.

Yesterday, I was bestowed an award by a fellow blogger. I was nominated for the “Liebster Award” by a fellow blogger by the name of Nikki, that writes here – “As I Live and Breathe”. Nikki was recently listed for a lung transplant.

The idea of this award is actually a chance to get to know fellow bloggers a bit better, similar to some of the chain questions that float around on Facebook from time to time.

Nikki has asked me 11 questions and my answers are attached to each one.

1.What was the biggest risk you ever took? Every day life is a risk. Our lives can change in a split second, as I know all too well. Most risks I take are calculated …. but I have gambled a few times. Joining the Army National Guard was a gamble, a major fire where I worked and I ran back in the building to shut off oil and gasses that were feeding the fire was a HUGE gamble. Thankfully, God watches over us.

2. What keeps you motivated in difficult times? This is easy …. God and then my family & friends ….. grand kiddos especially keep me motivated, keeping pushing me forward.

3. What is one goal that you have yet to accomplish that you really want to? I need to print out various posts from this blog, collate them into book form for my grand kiddos.

4. Who was your most important mentor and why? I have had numerous mentors in my lifetime. But, I think the most important one was my father. He taught me so many good things that became the basics of life. Certain things he taught me directly, but he also taught me some things he wasn’t aware of at the time …… some of which were negatives, but I learned and he directly and indirectly made me a better person.

5.  Are you a cat or dog person, or both? I love all animals, but am especially fond of dogs.

6. What is one movie that always makes you cry no matter how many times you’ve seen it?  The movie”City of Angels” with Nicholas Cage & Meg Ryan. A story of life, death, of love and of difficult decisions. It also contains two of my most favorite songs. “Iris” by the Goo Goo Dolls and “Arms of an Angel” by Sarah McLachlan. The music alone can bring tears to my eyes.

7. What was your proudest moment? This one was easy. It was watching my son graduate from medical school with his M.D. A day I will NEVER forget.

8. What was the most meaningful gift you were ever given and why? Another very easy one. I was given the gift of life (heart transplant) from an anonymous person and/or their family. I am in AWE each and every day of this gift. It is not a normal gift … like a tie or a book …. it has given me almost nine extra years with my family and friends. I am humbled and filled with gratitude.

9. If you could be a famous person for one day who would you be? This one is difficult, but for one day I would have liked to have been the Apostle John, and the time period from the Last Supper through the crucifixion. A time of turmoil, but also a time of hope, of blessings at the great time in history ….. in my opinion.

10. Did you ever or do you ever play sports? If so, (or even not) do you have a favorite one and what lessons you learned from that sport made it appeal to you? Yes, baseball. I played up until I was 42 years old, and would still play if it didn’t take so long to warm up. The game has taught me a lot. It is a game of team work. It is a game of skills. It is a game of people, large and small, heavy and thin, fast and slow. It is a game about thinking. If you think baseball is slow or boring …… you simply don’t know or understand the game.

11. What is the best book you’ve read and why?  “The Stand” by Stephen King …… Of all the books I’ve read, this one keep me engaged from the beginning to the end. A pandemic, struggles, life, death, heaven and hell. It had me on the edge of my seat.

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in Daily Insight, General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Award and ….. Answers

  1. DAP, these are great responses. I’d say you knocked it out of the park. 🙂

Leave a Reply

