Nine Years, A Blessing


“The moment you start ACTING LIKE life is a BLESSING it starts FEELING LIKE one.”

Today was the ninth anniversary of the day I received my new heart. I decided to wait to write this at the end of the day, after I had time to process the day.

It has been a bittersweet day, as most of these anniversaries can be. I am able to celebrate life, my life ….. but at the same time, I mourn the death of the person that saved my life, by giving me his or her amazing heart. I know when I get to heaven I will meet and embrace this person, this blessing whose life intersected with mine.

Emotional ….. I’ve laughed and I’ve cried throughout the day. Sometimes at nothing, and other times at specific thoughts, random people, my thoughts have been scattered, but I do know that I am filled with gratitude and love. Simply to be alive is a blessing.

Two days ago, I spent the majority of the day at the hospital for my “biennial” heart catheterization. By the end of the day, I was exhausted and a bit beat up. But, this heart, my heart is doing amazingly well. The arteries are clear, the pressures inside the heart were fantastic …… in short, all was good. And, all was good all thanks to that blessing that bestowed upon me nine years ago.

Somewhere another family grieved today …… their loss of nine years ago. Most likely, they aren’t aware that I grieved with them, as I do daily, for their loved one had given everything and I will NEVER forget them. NEVER! EVER!

I spent my day do what I truly enjoy …. volunteering at my transplant center. My way of “giving back” a bit by giving hope to those on the transplant journey. Then, a couple of our sweetest and dearest friends took us to dinner to celebrate and I was also given a “Bleeding Heart” plant as an anniversary gift …. so fitting.

I have been blessed to have so many touch me in a positive ways over the course of my life. So many people taught me so much before transplant. And since that fateful day nine years ago …….  my doctors and nurses … the staff at my transplant center …. my family and friends …. the people I have been blessed to meet, if only a brief time or two …….. all have touched me and have blessed me in incredible ways.

I thank God every day for ALL of my blessings!

To my donor – When hope was all but lost, you came to me with a second chance. That second chance was a miracle. You became my blessing, my miracle, my second chance. I pray for your soul and your family daily. I am forever filled with gratitude.

Hearts Tied Together

9 of hearts

Fitting – Nine Hearts

 

 

 

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in Daily Insight, General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nine Years, A Blessing

  1. Ms. A says:

    Very touching, Don. Made me tear up a little. Many more anniversaries to you!

Leave a Reply

