3,333 Days


“Numbers have an important story to tell. They rely on you to give them a voice.”

~ Stephen Few

As of today, I’ve been given the chance to live an extra 3,333 extra days of life, all because of the truly amazing gift given to me by my HEROIC organ donor. In other words, I’ve lived 13.91% of my life with someone else’s heart. If I live another 33 days or 3,333 days, or another 6,666 days I will forever be GRATEFUL to that special person and his or her family. Out of those 3,333 days I have prayed for my donor and his/her family every day, except the first 7 days when I was unconscious in the ICU. My gratitude to them and to God will NEVER end. Of course, I also know that 3,333 days ago, someone died ……. and I grieve with their family each day.

I love to track things …. Excel makes it easy for me to keep track of those days. The month of June has been filled with various numbers. These are numbers beyond my BP’s, weight, food intake, birthdays, exercise and steps taken.

Two days ago, Excel said I had outlived my father by one day. It was kind of significant at one point, because immediately after my transplant, I found out that what caused my heart’s electrical system to “fry” was an issue I inherited from my father, and the next generation would see it 9 years earlier in life. Being that I am 9 years, one month and 14 days post transplant, I’d say they were , sadly, quite accurate.

Last week was, as many know, Father’s Day and it also would have been my dad’s birthday. Even though we didn’t always get along, I do miss him as he taught me many, many things. Thank you and bless your soul, dad!

Of course, earlier this week, the number ONE showed up ….. as the Cleveland Cav’s won the NBA championship ……. their first one ever and the first Championship of any major league Cleveland sports team in 52 years. I didn’t need to track that, as the local news has reminded us every day for the past week.

To me this is significant because I was born in Cleveland, not once, but TWICE. (Natural and via heart transplant if you are new to my blog) It is a town that I am fiercely proud of and a city that has been maligned a lot over the years. There was a parade for the Cav’s this week, and 1.3 million fans showed up to celebrate, in a town that is also known as “Believeland” or “The Land”. And, they behaved in an incredible and classy fashion ….. no fires set, no cars flipped over, just a good old celebration. Almost 5 years ago, I wrote this post ….. “My Home Town”.

Living and loving a life filled with gratitude – ALWAYS!

3333

 

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in Heart Transplant. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3,333 Days

  1. Ms. A says:

    Here’s wishing you many, Many, MANY more!

  2. DAP says:

    Thanks Mrs A …….. I am hoping for many more days! The Good Lord willing!

Leave a Reply

