Everyday People


Warning, this is a rare RANT!

“Sometimes I’m right and I can be wrong
My own beliefs are in my song
The butcher, the banker, the drummer and then
Makes no difference what group I’m in

I am everyday people, yeah yeah

There is a blue one who can’t accept the green one
For living with a fat one trying to be a skinny one
And different strokes for different folks
And so on and so on and scooby dooby doo

Oh sha sha we got to live together

I am no better and neither are you
We are the same whatever we do
You love me you hate me you know me and then
You can’t figure out the bag I’m in

I am everyday people, yeah yeah

There is a long hair that doesn’t like the short hair
For bein’ such a rich one that will not help the poor one
And different strokes for different folks
And so on and so on and scooby dooby doo

Oh sha sha we got to live together

There is a yellow one that won’t accept the black one
That won’t accept the red one that won’t accept the white one
And different strokes for different folks
And so on and so on and scooby dooby doo

I am everyday people”

~ Sly and the Family Stone, Everyday People

The lyrics of the entire song seemed fitting for what thoughts I am going to write.

These thoughts didn’t come about by recent events. Rather, they have been building within my mind for over many years, since before my heart transplant. The animosity between people seems to have grown worse and worse with each passing year. We can blame the politicians, we can blame the media (Social and Main stream), yet we really need to take a long hard look inside of OURSELVES.

We are told in subtle terms, in graphic terms by family, friends, by the all-knowing perfect media that we need to strongly dislike this group of people, or that group of people due to A, B, C …. X, Y and Z.

We need to be at odds because he or she is …….

Rich or Poor

Tall or Short

Black or White

Angelic or Devilish

B+W

Liberal or Conservative

Straight or Gay

War Hawk or Peacenik

Intelligent or Challenged

G+F

Democrat or Republican

Law biding or Law breaking

Woman or Man

Fat or Thin

L+H

As the recipient of a heart that came from an unknown person ….. a hero in my mind, that may fit into many of these categories at one time. I’ve given a LOT of thought about the animosity, the dislike, and at times the hatred that is spread around each day and in my mind, I cannot, I will NOT have an any bitterness, bad blood (pun intended) or dislike for ANY group.

I wasn’t raised that way or ever thought in terms of hatred!

I simply can’t! So, please stop telling me that I MUST!

Even though I am a straight, white, male that believes in a higher power …… The John Doe, or Jane Doe that saved my life could be from any ethnicity, socio-economic background, of undetermined sexuality, political persuasion, that may have had thoughts, ideals and desires that were completely different from mine and …… it does NOT matter. This person SAVED my life and I will LOVE them unconditionally at all times!

I quite often will disagree with a person’s thoughts, speech or ideals, but I will not hate them for that. Free speech is what makes our country such a great place. A difference in opinion is one thing, but HATRED is off the charts.

Take a few minutes to think about some stranger, of some unknown origin that stepped up during their last breath, their last heartbeat and literally SAVED your life, by taking a bullet with your name on it, or pushed you from the path of a speeding vehicle where they took the impact. Or, gifted you their heart. Because their beliefs might be different that yours, you’d still dislike them or hate them?

I’m not perfect, I slip at times, but I really do try to see God’s LOVE in everyone and everything …. and that love resides in my HEART and in my SOUL!

Eyes of love

Peace and LOVE to you!

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in Heart Transplant. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Everyday People

  1. Ms. A says:

    Very well said.

Leave a Reply

