Feathers


“When an feather appears, an angel is near!”

The following type of conversation has become quite common at My2ndHeartBeat World Headquarters, happening about two to three times a week.

CEO of My2ndHB : “What is that on your back?”

[Reaches over and plucks a feather, usually white or gray from my back or my shoulder.]

Me: “Oh, I’m starting grow my angel wings.”

CEO : [emphasis added] “Devils don’t have wings!”

Me : “Sigh”

I’m not sure when the feathers first started to appear, but it’s been about a year now. They are usually white, or light gray in color, though occasionally a darker one will appear. they can show up virtually any where …. while sitting in a restaurant, walking at the local mall, while in Lowe’s, after I’ve in the garage or basement … virtually anywhere. Usually on my back or shoulder …….

For a while I discounted them as possibly coming from our down filled couch or the random down-filled pillow. But rarely do I see any other feathers in the house. Ever!

We don’t have many birds around, as the feral cats of the neighborhood have seemed to diminished the bird population.

Growing up my Mother used to comment, when a feather was found, that an angel was nearby, as in the opening quote.

A search of Mr Google about the feathers was a bit overwhelming …. items about angels, spirituality, voodoo, religion, myths, superstitions very plentiful. But a common themes seemed to be the feathers were from your “Guardian Angel” and being “blessed” ….. My immediate thought was, all of these feathers and I have’t won the Powerball Lottery, or a new car, or anything else. But then, I also wondered about what bad things I could have been spared from …. out of control cars and trucks, falling tree limbs, the time the ladder ‘almost’ collapsed, and on and on.

So, I’m not sure ….. but I do know there have been a lot of feathers in my life the past year and I am a strong believer of the angels …. I’ve seen the angels!

So, is it my Guardian Angel, who has worked many, many overtime days on my behalf? Perhaps it is my heart donor stopping by for a visit, or family …. or an old friend, or????

feathers

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in Daily Insight, General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

