Be Careful What You Wish For


Baseball ……. a game I have loved since I was a little kid. Not sure when I fell in love with the sport, but what little my memory will allow, I’m thinking I started at age 5 or 6.

Since I live in the area near Cleveland, I have always been an Indians fan. Though while growing up I also visited my grandparents in the Chicago area. The Cubs were my favorite National League team, followed closely by the Pittsburgh Pirates. I fondly remember those trips to Wrigley Field and Cleveland’s Municipal Stadium with my grandfather ….. the (bad) food, the cheering, the thick cigar smoke, and the excitement of the games.

Growing from a little boy into “senior citizenship”, through the Indians and the Cubs I’ve seen multiple lifetimes of baseball. Both have had some horrendous seasons, that were endured and ALWAYS followed by “There’s always NEXT year!”

Both were perennial losers, always the underdog …… and that’s why I loved them!

Seasons were filled with heart breaking losses, heart breaking injuries. Even some of the best players in the game ….. names like Rocky Colavito & Ernie Banks could NOT change the Baseball God’s minds.

178 years of combined World Series Championship drought!

For literally decades, I dreamed of both the Indians and Cubs ending up in the world series at the same time. And now that they are there …… it all starts tonight and over the next few days the Gods of Baseball with break one curse, yet continue another one.

I am forever GRATEFUL to that person that saved my life 9 years ago that I am even here to witness this event. And, since I was born in Cleveland TWICE, that is where my heart will always be in support of the Indians…… win or lose, they will always be MY team.

And now we wait for the first pitch. Cleveland is still the underdog, which is why I’ve always loved them.

Go Cleveland! Cleveland in 6 games!

be-careful

 

 

 

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in Daily Insight, General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Be Careful What You Wish For

  1. Pingback: So Close, Yet So Far | My2ndHeartBeat

Leave a Reply

