3,500 Days of Memories & Blessings


“We’re weird roman candles burning bright at both ends. At the end of the road’s where this story begins. Where the green of the gulf meets the blue of the sea. What makes it all happen is still a mystery to me. But those crazy days and those crazy ways, we never want to undo. We’ll be together, now and forever.”

~ Jimmy Buffett, Blue Heaven Rendezvous

Three thousand, five hundred days ago today I was literally at the end of the road …. I was swirling the drain. And, that’s where this story begins. 3,500 days ago, I was on heaven’s doorstep when I received the “Gift of Life” via a heart transplant from an anonymous, amazing, heroic donor. This person, my donor, is in my prayers in the morning when I awaken and in my prayers at the end of each day. My prayers are filled with never-ending thanks to God and constant gratitude to my donor and his/her family.

“I count the days because they are the compartments for the EXTRA memories I have collected since I was given a new life. These memories are filled with family and friends, with people that have touched my life in small and large ways. The memories have been good and bad. I have witnessed my family grow, and also seen some pass-away. I’ve made new (kindred) friends and lost others. My memories are filled with laughs and smiles ….. and many tears as well. I count the days as I count the blessings ……. and my life has been filled with them.”

~ DAP @ My2ndHeartBeat

To my donor’s family ……. I still grieve with you each day. I ask God to bless you daily. I thank you for the amazing gift I was given. Your loved one, is and always will be my hero. The thanks I give comes from my soul …. it is real, it is deep and it is profound. Through this gift from God we’ll be connected forever. I was never sure why I was chosen to be the caretaker of this heart, but I know it was part of God’s Plan for me …… and being the caretaker of my miracle is not a chore ….. as this heart is filled with LOVE and GRATITUDE!

3500-1

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in Daily Insight, General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

