Broken Heart, Hospitals and TEN Years


“If through a broken heart God can bring His purposes to pass in the world, then thank Him for breaking your heart.”

(Note – This post will be a rambling bunch of thoughts)

For the past few weeks I’ve had a lot on my mind. Lots of tears, lots of nerves, lots of deep thought, and too many sleepless nights. Most of it had to do with a SIGNIFICANT, life changing event that happened 10 years ago today. That was the day my heart broke ……. I had a massive heart attack that sent me careening towards a meeting with the Grim Reaper. I knocked on his door and he said not now, not yet.

Due to medications and time, I don’t remember all of the details of the events that day, ten years ago. I do remember the paramedics talking to me, carrying me from the house, arriving at the hospital, and some of the events in the E.R.

Fast forward to today ……. exactly ten years later, I was in hospital for testing (on my transplanted heart) …….. and during the testing, one of the medical professionals asks me how I “got there”. In other words, what was my story ……. as I retold my story, I felt this “whoosh” come from inside me …… whatever it was, it calmed me and I suddenly felt better. The re-telling my story today was different today …. cathartic, healing, comforting in some small way.

And, as my friends know, I track EVERYTHING about my heart on an Excel spreadsheet. Today my numbers told me that I’ve lived exactly 15.00% of my life with a borrowed, gently used heart.

Very early this morning I received word that a dear friend’s mother is gravely ill ….. many prayers said, I’m keeping the family in my heart.

To add to all of today’s thoughts and emotions, someone named “Beamer” left a comment on my blog today ….. it was truly something unexpected  ———- “If I’d been your donor…. I’d be happy I got a chance to keep living within someone in some small way … and spreading the word to others so they can celebrate the little moments and triumphs of life, a skill that is always a worthy tool.”

This day, every day, I praise God for all the amazing gifts I’ve been given. I’m thankful for fantastic friends and family, great healthcare providers, and having amazing people touch my life. I am so GRATEFUL.

PS : Test results from today are pending, but the preliminary results apparently showed no change. Thank you, Lord!

Broken Hearts

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in Daily Insight, General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Broken Heart, Hospitals and TEN Years

  1. Ms. A says:

    Happy 10th Rebirthday! You are such an inspiration!

    PS: I saw that comment from “Beamer”. Way back when I first started following you, I clicked for comment notifications and it came up in my email!

  2. Nikki says:

    DAP, I’m really happy for you, 10 years of helping others not just with hearts but other organs along this very path. No doubt your donor is somewhere looking at you with pride how you’ve shared this heart (in more ways than one) with others. Keep hanging in there & doing what you do best, encouraging others. Nikki

  3. Carmen says:

    …….and the beat goes on! Nikki said it well; your donor would/is so proud.

Leave a Reply

