Ten Years – I Carry Your Heart With Me


i carry your heart with me (i carry it in
my heart) i am never without it (anywhere
i go you go, my dear; and whatever is done
by only me is your doing, my darling)

e.e. cummings; i carry your heart with me

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Today is a bittersweet day. Very emotional. It touches me deep in my soul.

Ten years ago today I was the blessed recipient of a stranger’s heart. A stranger that has become a beautiful friend inside of my body. We have bonded in a way that leaves me at a loss for words.

If I had to explain what today means to me in a single word, I’d have to use the word LOVE.

Certainly LOVE for my donor, who has touched my soul and changed my life forever, and his or her family.

LOVE for my family.

LOVE for my friends.

LOVE for the large group of world class people that worked so valiantly to save my life (and continue to help me and watch over me)

Love for this incredible journey and the people that have touched me with their love.

And, most importantly, the Love of God. With God, ALL things are possible.

Ten years today …….. an incredible journey filled with LOVE.

I know I’ll smile and I’ll cry today ……. smiles and tears filled with love, and with total gratitude.

Two hearts, believing in just one mind
Beating together till the end of time
You know we’re two hearts believing in just one mind
Together forever till the end of time

~ Phil Collins; Two Hearts

Print

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in Heart Transplant. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

