Living Life


The days since the new year started have been quite busy. Besides simply being busy, we’ve also had to contend with snow on a daily basis. Not a tremendous amount, but around 2″ to 3″ every day. It’s been easy enough to remove without having a snow removal battle with my better half.

The busy part includes a plethora of administrative issues between my health insurance company, a couple of hospitals and a doctor. I will continue to “dog” them until everything is cleared up. I track everything and when I see things that are wrong, I light up the phone lines.

Then there’s painting …. I love to work on things. Improve, rebuild, enhance …… and when I’m working on our home, I feel great. It kind of takes my mind away and allows me to “forget”. The current project, painting the bedroom, is going along nicely. I’m pacing myself (after the first day of furniture moving) and the project should be complete this weekend.

I made a new friend the other day, quite unexpectedly. My wife and I were having breakfast in a small local restaurant and she knew this guy from years ago. As they were chatting, it turns out he had a kidney transplant about ten years ago. She told him about my heart transplant and soon he was sitting with us and we were comparing medications and talking about doctors, labs, etc. Very nice!

In a post on 12/2/2009, I mentioned making “wishes” for patients that I had seen when I volunteer. Yesterday was a particularly trying day as a patient “coded” while I was a mere two doors away. The sights and sounds (especially the sounds that heart paddles make when charging) were very emotional for me. (the patient survived) As I completed my rounds I stopped and said a prayer for each of my friends and then made my wishes too. Here’s a picture ……. (that’s snow outside the glass at the top of the pic)

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Living Life

  1. Rise' says:

    Hi Dap

    WOW! You do so much! Glad that you now have a new friend.

    You are an amazing person to do all that you do.
    God Bless You
    Rise’

Leave a comment