Face in the Crowd


From Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, “Face in a Crowd”

Out of the dream, out of the sky
into my heart, into my life
you were just a face in the crowd
you were just a face in the crowd
out in the street, thinking out loud
a face in the crowd

********************************************

Each time I’m at my transplant center, whether as a patient, a volunteer, or simply visiting, I am “looking”.

I’m looking for a young lady, an angel that touched me, touched my life for a few short days almost 3 years ago.

The reason I seek this lady, is that she was the ICU nurse that called me her, “miracle man”, that told me about my new heart ….. that I didn’t know I had ….. that was beating in my chest. The first 2 lines from above, sum it up ….

Out of the dream, out of the sky
into my heart, into my life

The problem is, I was on so many drugs, so much medication right after my heart transplant, that I don’t know what she looks like. I can’t remember her face. My life was a blur at this point. Drifting in and out of consciousness. In and out of reality. She was from a dream, or an angel that fell from the sky for those few fateful days ….. into my heart and my life. She flooded the area around me with kindness and encouragement.

Yet, I continue to watch for her. …. this faceless angel of mercy …….

I know I’ll never find her. It’s like searching for the wind, or chasing a shadow. So, I’ll simply thank her here ……..

To my faceless ICU nurse ~ I thank you, from the bottom of my new heart. You are beyond incredible and may God bless you always!! I know I’ll NEVER forget you!

My Faceless Angel of Mercy

 

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Face in the Crowd

  1. Pingback: Face In The Crowd | My2ndHeartBeat

Leave a comment