Trade-off ???


Trade-off ???

This is how the Mirriam-Webster online dictionary defines “Trade-off” ~

1: a balancing of factors all of which are not attainable at the same time

 2: a giving up of one thing in return for another

 ======================================================

 A number of times since I was blessed with my heart transplant I’ve heard the words “trade-off”.

 You’ve traded one problem for other problems. While this might be true if you look at the side effects our immunosuppressant medications have ….. major bone loss and high breakage potential, greatly increased cancer risks, gout, weight gain or loss and the list goes on and on.

Or are we trading for additional scrutiny by our doctors and nurses as they attempt to keep us alive?

 Or trading a career in ________ (fill in the blank) for a career in organ transplantation. As we maintain a somewhat rigid regime of watching diet, exercise, medical appointments, taking and ordering our meds on time and following all the many rules that come along with a new heart, lung, liver or kidney.

 All the above may be true is one respect or another.

 However, the way I look at my transplant is this …… it was a trade-off.

 I traded death for LIFE!! 

(Thanks to God and my anonymous donor)

The Ultimate Trade-off ~ YOUTH

 

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment