Total Eclipse of the Heart


Total Eclipse of the Heart – Bonnie Tyler, 1983

Listen here ~ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOFpmXGaLac

I’ve been saving this post for today, Halloween, only because of the Eclipse – Moon – Darkness – Shadows connection. Otherwise, it has nothing to do with All Hallows’ Eve.

(Editor’s Note ~ Since I wrote this yesterday, I now see that some allege that this song does have a connection to Halloween, via Bonnie Tyler’s eerie music video of the same song ~  http://www.last.fm/music/Bonnie+Tyler/+videos/+1-840B27zYfOk )
 

In my reality this is a good song for someone who has had a heart transplant. Not that every verse fits me or any other heart recipient, but the title alone speaks volumes …… no it SCREAMS at me …….

I had a total eclipse …… which is defined by Websters as “the passing into the shadow of a celestial body”   …… I was so close to death so many time prior to my heart transplant that I feel I did pass into those celestial shadows. Most of us that have had heart transplants have knocked on death’s door more than once.

Though I feel mine and many other heart recipients journeys differ from say a lunar or solar eclipse where it’s the same sun before and after passing through the shadows. My “total eclipse of the heart” has changed me forever. I’m different now, I have many different WONDERFUL friends, I look at life differently, my wants, needs and desires have changed on many levels.

Certainly my life’s path, my destiny has changed. Nothing is as it was before my transplant.

One thing is for sure …. I am FOREVER GRATEFUL that my path went in this direction. I know I am a walking, talking miracle. The “eclipse” has been a true blessing!

This verse resonates through me each time I listen to this song,  perhaps it was from whatever was going on in my subconscious mind while in a coma before my transplant ~

Once upon a time there was light in my life
But now there’s only love in the dark
Nothing I can do
A total eclipse of the heart

 

Total Eclipse of the Heart!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

About DAP

I am a heart transplant recipient and these are my stories and thoughts. My desire is to assist others pre or post heart transplant in anyway possible. Please feel free to contact me if you have a question.
This entry was posted in General, Heart Transplant and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment